I’ve had a three-day break from #BlogJune because it’s a chance to write regularly, not an emergency! Tony was in Waikato having surgery and I needed to concentrate on work and my family. I’m fortunate work is supportive, my Twitter friends are supportive, and I have people I can call on if I need help with something.

Speaking of help, how often do we struggle with something when we just need to ask for a little help? I was stuck with an Excel spreadsheet a while back and spent ages trying to get it to do what my manager’s EA was asking for. Eventually I phoned someone who used to work in our libraries and is now in finance. She popped across and had it solved in a few minutes. I know what to do now, but could have saved myself time and aggravation asking for help sooner.

I’m not sure why I didn’t ask sooner; fear of seeming stupid? Not wanting to waste other people’s time? A sense that I’ll solve it any second? Imposter syndrome perhaps – if I ask for help they’ll finally *know for sure* that I don’t know enough…

We’ve been talking a bit in the Kotuku Emerging Leaders programme about Imposter Syndrome, because it’s quite pervasive and, I suspect, more common in women. Why do we find it so hard to accept that we’re in our role because people believe in us and our skills? We all need help sometimes, and can’t know everything, and that’s ok! That’s what makes us human…

help

