Tomorrow we are having a morning tea to celebrate my manager being with Council 25 years. It’s a long time…  In November I’ll have been with Council 24 years and that’s a long time too! Why have I stayed so long?

Convenience? Yes, sure. But much more than that. I love working in a positive culture where values are key, where we treat each other like family, and where we’re (relatively) free to do whatever we need to make our customers happy. We are well resourced, have good training budgets, and are looked after in a holistic sense. That’s pretty hard to leave.

And there’s one other thing that makes it a great place to be. The managers walk the talk and act with integrity. I’m learning a lot from my manager and that’s incredibly valuable too. I hope I’m also modelling the way for my staff.

vinyl-the-simpson-s-25th-anniversary-mini-series-4

